From grassroots to global.

Alexandra McPherson

Alexandra McPherson


Alexandra McPherson, Principal, Niagara Share. Ms. McPherson has spent the last twenty years leading innovative environmental initiatives that leverage the collective creativity of communities and industries. Niagara Share builds cross sectoral partnerships that advance social and environmental entrepreneurship. She co-leads the Collaborative for the Regenerative Economy (CoRE) with the University at Buffalo's Materials Design and Innovation Department and Clean Production Action (CPA). CoRE is investing in new material innovation, and clean production solutions for our renewable energy economy. Ms McPherson also leads the Investor Environmental Health Network (IEHN), an investor collaborative housed at CPA, an organization Ms. McPherson co-founded and led for over a decade. IEHN builds corporate support for green chemistry initiatives in partnership with its membership network of 30 investment organizations managing over $60B in assets.

Read More

Prior to her work at Niagara Share, Alexandra launched an innovative start up – Clean Production Action – that successfully worked globally to scale environmental solutions through dynamic partnerships across businesses, unions, governments, academics, and nonprofit organizations. She assembled a world-class team to deliver environmental tools and services to major corporations and governments worldwide, including Walmart, Apple, Staples, Nike, Kaiser Permanente, the European Union, the States of California and Washington, and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Alexandra served on the national advisory board of EPEAT (Electronic Product Environmental Assessment Tool) – the largest green electronic product registry in the world – which directs over a billion dollars in purchasing toward greener products. She co-designed and facilitated market adoption of cutting-edge solutions for the electronics sector, including the Green Screen for Safer Chemicals, Hewlett Packard’s leading procurement tool (other companies using this model include Apple, Dell, Clariant, Nike and Honeywell). This work enabled her to partner with Apple, Hewlett Packard, Seagate and other electronic companies to establish supply chain procurement specifications for environmentally preferred materials. She also co-authored a precedent-setting, widely-covered report – Greening Consumer Electronics: the Move Away from Chlorine and Bromine – and worked on a key three year EPA funded project to embed green engineering principles into product innovation in the auto sector. 

She also has spent the last decade working with key thought leaders on how we redefine investments to include social and environmental returns. Alexandra leads the Investor Environmental Health Network (IEHN). IEHN builds corporate support for green chemistry initiatives in partnership with its membership network of 30 investment organizations managing over $60B.

She currently serves on the board of the Western New York Environmental Alliance and Clean and Healthy New York; is a trustee for the Nichols School and an ambassador for the Girls Education Collaborative. Alexandra earned her BA in Communication from the University of New Hampshire.